The Department of Political Science at the Johns Hopkins University Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences provides graduate and undergraduate training in American politics and law, comparative politics, international relations, and political theory. Its programs are well suited to students who seek rigorous training, pursue large questions about politics, and aspire to develop strength in more than one field. The department offers a graduate program leading to the PhD, as well as a distinct undergraduate major in political science.


Professor Adam Sheingate, Chair

Melissa Baranowski, Executive Assistant to Senator Barbara A. Mikulski (Ret.)

Tracey Biller, Administrative Secretary

Lisa Williams, Supervisor and Sr. Administrative Coordinator

Yunshan Ye, Political Science Librarian

Professor Samuel Chambers, Director of Graduate Studies

Professor Steven David, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Sally Lawton, Undergraduate Coordinator