Graduate Students

  • Kavi Abraham

    kavi.joseph.abraham@gmail.com

    Research Interests: International Relations | Political Theory
    Democratic governance of cyberspace, hacker practices and contemporary social movements, liberalism and the production of imperial formations, American pragmatism and global democracy, interpretive methods and methodology

  • Yehonatan Abramson

    yabrams1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    Diaspora and Transnationalism, Ethnic and Religious Conflicts, Securitization, Pragmatism and IR, Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

  • Michael Albert

    malber13@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | International Relations
    Marxism, technology, transhumanism, new rationalism, accelerationism, and critical security studies

  • Alexander Alden

    A.T.Alden@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Bryan Carter

    bcarte33@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Meaghan Charlton

    mcharlt2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Ino Choi

    ichoi8@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Charlton Copeland

    ccopela7@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • David Dagan

    david.dagan@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Comparative Politics
    Comparative politics of criminal justice, with a particular emphasis on the U.S.; political economy of development; American political development

  • Alona Dolinsky

    adolins2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | American Politics
    European party politics and electoral politics with an emphasis on British contemporary politics

  • Darcie Draudt

    ddraudt1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Christopher England

    cengland2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Stephanie Erev

    serev1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Law & Politics
    Affect, ecology, political economy, new materialism, multispecies ethnography, wild law/Earth jurisprudence

  • Colin Eubank

    ceubank4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Devin Fernandes

    dfernandes@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Law & Politics
    Interest group politics, social movements, racial and ethnic politics, social policy

  • Lauren Foley

    lauren.foley@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Public Law
    Legal impact and organizations, American political development, law and social movements

  • Christopher Forster-Smith

    cforste4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Comparative Politics
    Theory and politics of capitalism; political economy, racial politics, and urban politics through the lens of Marx, Nietzsche, Foucault, and Deleuze

  • Ryan Fried

    rfried4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Scott Gerber

    sgerber6@jhu.edu; Scott.r.gerber.mil@mail.mil

    Research Interests: International Relations; Comparative Politics
    Security Studies; Strategy and Policy; Nuclear Weapons; Uncertainty; Political Economy

  • Patrick Giamario

    pgiamar1@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Law & Politics
    Critical Theory; democratic theory; history of political thought; politics and aesthetics; philosophies of laughter

  • Anne Gillman

    adursto1@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | American Politics
    Democratization, participatory institutions, youth, Latin America (especially Brazil), cultural policy

  • Katherine Goktepe

    goktepe@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Contemporary political theory; history of political thought; Shakespeare and early modern literature; affect studies; feminist and queer studies; race studies

  • Brian Gordon

    bgordo32@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Jishnu Guha-Majumdar

    jguhama1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Race, coloniality, the non-human, philosophy of history

  • Tim Hanafin

    timhanafin@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Meghan Helsel

    helsel@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Christopher Higgins

    ch.ja.higgins@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Nnamdi Igbokwe

    nigbokwe@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Gary Jones

    garywilliamjones@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Law & Politics | Comparative Politics
    Constitutional law, intellectual property, judicial politics, American politics, comparative politics

  • Ungki Jung

    ujung3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Comparative Politics
    American welfare state in comparative perspective; comparative political economy; relation between financial market and social policy; social policy dynamics in the U.S. as well as in East Asia; theories of institutional change

  • Hirofumi Kawaguchi

    hkawaguchi@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics
    Agricultural politics, Japanese politics

  • Nur Kirmizidag

    imurphy2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Tristan Klingelhöfer

    tklinge1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics
    Party organization, party competition, coalition politics, multi-level systems, sociological theories in comparative politics

  • Mikael Kristiansen

    mkristi1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory
    Politics of economic growth, political ecology, critiques of capitalism, the relationship between work (as a concept or practice) and ecological degradation, religion in radical leftist politics (and vice versa)

  • Nils Kupzok

    nkupzok1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Sally Lawton

    slawton3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Political Theory
    Urban politics, postindustrial cities, race, American political development

  • Quinn Lester

    lester.quinn@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    New materialisms, speculative realisms, comparative political theory, post-colonial theory, politics and religion, politics of horror

  • Meghan Luhman

    mluhman1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | International Relations
    European politics, Britain and France, immigration and asylum policy, the politics of ideas

  • Jon Masin-Peters

    jmasinpeters@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Political theory and American politics; political economy, the macro and micro-politics of domination, theories of freedom, racial politics, democratic theory, pluralism and social movements, capitalism and gender, class and labor process theory, American political development

  • John McMinn

    jmcminn1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Elizabeth Mendenhall

    bethmendenhall@gmail.com

    Research Interests: International Relations
    Commons regimes, ocean management and jurisdiction, nuclear weapons, American foreign policy, liberal internationalism, geopolitics

  • Perry Moskowitz

    mmoskow9@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Political theory, American politics, aesthetics, politics and literature, critical theory, early modern political thought, phenomenology, politics of representation, feminist and queer theory

  • Stephanie Najjar

    stephanienajjar@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Wesley O’Dell

    odellwesley@gmail.com

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Tripp Rebrovik

    trippr@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political theory, history of political thought, food studies, classical and contemporary political economy, American constitutional law, queer theory, Walt Whitman

  • Luis Rodriguez Aquino

    jrodr133@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Fernando Romero

    frm@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | International Relations
    International relations theory and transnational history merged with fiction (Lu Xun, Dostoyevsky, Hugo Lindo), philosophy of organism (A.N. Whitehead), and phenomenology (Kuki Shuuzou)

  • Sier Sansar

    ssan2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | International Relations
    Comparative inter-ethnic politics in China and Russia

  • Franziska Strack

    fstrack1@jh.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Nicole Thornton

    ethornt5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | American Politics
    Comparative racial politics, multiculturalism and public policy, immigrant incorporation and citizenship, ethnicity and nation-building

  • Yunchen Tian

    ytian23@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Tarek Tutunji

    ttutunj1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    International relations theory; sociology of knowledge; philosophy of science; the Industrial Revolution; world-systems theory

  • Sunil Vaswani

    svaswan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Karyn J. Wang

    karynwang@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    International hierarchy, political hegemony, small state diplomacy, East Asia, Middle East

  • Jonathan White

    jwhit113@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | International Relations
    Law and violence, responsibility and mercy

  • Chunman Zhang

    czhang54@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | International Relations
    Chinese politics, environmental politics, international security, global governance, China's rise and research methodology

  • Tulio Zille

    tzille1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations