Graduate Students

  • Kavi Abraham

    kavi.joseph.abraham@gmail.com Personal Website

    Research Interests: International Relations | Political Theory
    Democratic governance of cyberspace, hacker practices and contemporary social movements, liberalism and the production of imperial formations, American pragmatism and global democracy, interpretive methods and methodology

  • Yehonatan Abramson

    yabrams1@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    Transnational identity politics, critical security studies, Migration policies, foreign policymaking, Middle East politics, qualitative methods, Israeli politics, Turkish politics

  • Michael Albert

    malber13@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | International Relations
    Marxism, technology, transhumanism, new rationalism, accelerationism, and critical security studies

  • Sabrina Axster

    saxster1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Joseph Becker

    jbecke24@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Bryan Carter

    bcarte33@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Meaghan Charlton

    mcharlt2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Inho Choi

    ichoi8@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Charlton Copeland

    ccopela7@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Emma Cytrynbaum

    ecytryn1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • David Dagan

    david.dagan@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Comparative Politics
    Comparative politics of criminal justice, with a particular emphasis on the U.S.;Public Law; American political development

  • Valerie de Koeijer

    vdekoei1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Nandini Dey

    ndey1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Alona Dolinsky

    adolins2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | American Politics
    European party politics and electoral politics with an emphasis on British contemporary politics

  • Darcie Draudt

    ddraudt1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Luize Eihmane

    leihman1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Law and Politics

  • Stephanie Erev

    serev1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Law & Politics
    Environmental political thought, aesthetics, political economy, romanticism, postcolonial theory, Nietzschean philosophy, democratic theory, new materialism, pluralism

  • Colin Eubank

    ceubank4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Devin Fernandes

    dfernandes@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Law & Politics
    Interest group politics, social movements, racial and ethnic politics, social policy

  • Claudio Fiorini

    cfiorin2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Lauren Foley

    lauren.foley@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Public Law
    Legal impact and organizations, American political development, law and social movements

  • Christopher Forster-Smith

    cforste4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Comparative Politics
    Theory and politics of capitalism; political economy, racial politics, and urban politics through the lens of Marx, Nietzsche, Foucault, and Deleuze

  • Ryan Fried

    rfried4@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Scott Gerber

    sgerber6@jhu.edu; Scott.r.gerber.mil@mail.mil

    Research Interests: International Relations; Comparative Politics
    Security Studies; Strategy and Policy; Nuclear Weapons; Uncertainty; Political Economy

  • Patrick Giamario

    pgiamar1@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: Political Theory | Law & Politics
    Critical Theory; democratic theory; history of political thought; politics and aesthetics; philosophies of laughter

  • Brian Gordon

    bgordo32@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Jishnu Guha-Majumdar

    jguhama1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Race, coloniality, the non-human, philosophy of history

  • Tim Hanafin

    timhanafin@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Meghan Helsel

    helsel@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Maye Henning

    mhennin6@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Christopher Higgins

    ch.ja.higgins@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Nnamdi Igbokwe

    nigbokwe@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Gary Jones

    garywilliamjones@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Law & Politics | Comparative Politics
    Constitutional law, intellectual property, judicial politics, American politics, comparative politics

  • Ungki Jung

    ujung3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Comparative Politics
    American welfare state in comparative perspective; comparative political economy; relation between financial market and social policy; social policy dynamics in the U.S. as well as in East Asia; theories of institutional change

  • Hirofumi Kawaguchi

    hkawaguchi@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics
    Agricultural politics, Japanese politics

  • Nur Kirmizidag

    imurphy2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Tristan Klingelhöfer

    tklinge1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics
    Party organization, party competition, coalition politics, multi-level systems, sociological theories in comparative politics

  • Nils Kupzok

    nkupzok1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Sally Lawton

    slawton3@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics | Political Theory
    Urban politics, postindustrial cities, race, American political development

  • Quinn Lester

    lester.quinn@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    New materialisms, speculative realisms, comparative political theory, post-colonial theory, politics and religion, politics of horror

  • Thomas Mann

    tmann6@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Jon Masin-Peters

    jmasinpeters@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Political theory and American politics; political economy, the macro and micro-politics of domination, theories of freedom, racial politics, democratic theory, pluralism and social movements, capitalism and gender, class and labor process theory, American political development

  • John McMinn

    jmcminn1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Politics

  • Perry Moskowitz

    mmoskow9@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | American Politics
    Political theory, American politics, aesthetics, politics and literature, critical theory, early modern political thought, phenomenology, politics of representation, feminist and queer theory

  • Stephanie Najjar

    stephanienajjar@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Luis Rodriguez Aquino

    jrodr133@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Elliott Schwebach

    eschweb1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Franziska Strack

    fstrack1@jh.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Yunchen Tian

    ytian23@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Sansar Tsakhirmaa (Sier San)

    ssan2@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | International Relations
    Ethnically territorially-based autonomy in China and Russia, inter/intra-ethnic politics, center-periphery relations, institutions, state-society relations, East Asia (China), Eurasia (Russia and Central Asia)

  • Tarek Tutunji

    ttutunj1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    International relations theory; sociology of knowledge; philosophy of science; the Industrial Revolution; world-systems theory

  • Sunil Vaswani

    svaswan1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations

  • Maximiliano Vejares

    maxvejares@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics

  • Darko Vinketa

    dvinket1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Tvrtko Vrdoljak

    Tvrtko.vrdoljak@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory

  • Karyn J. Wang

    karynwang@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations | Comparative Politics
    International hierarchy, political hegemony, small state diplomacy, East Asia, Middle East

  • Jonathan White

    jwhit113@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Political Theory | International Relations
    Law and violence, responsibility and mercy

  • Chunman Zhang

    czhang54@jhu.edu Personal Website

    Research Interests: Comparative Politics | International Relations
    Party politics, environmental politics, political eonomy of development, Chinese politics, authoritarian politics, international security

  • Tulio Zille

    tzille1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: International Relations