News & Announcements Archive

New Website Launches for Portals Policing Project

Group of four standing in the entrance of a portal
Prof. Vesla Weaver's Portals Policing Project creates a “wormhole” in highly policed communities using a portal. Portals are virtual chambers where people who are far away from one another can converse as if in the same room. To-date, Weaver and her colleagues have amassed more than 850 conversations across 14 neighborhoods in six cities. It's the most extensive collection of first-hand accounts of policing to date.

Joel B. Grossman Memorial Fund Announced

We are grateful to announce the Joel B. Grossman Memorial Fund, which will be used for purposes related to constitutional law, the Supreme Court, or public law, including activities relating to Constitution Day.

Robbie Shilliam – Distinguished Teacher Lecture

Professor Robbie Shilliam will give the inaugural Distinguished Teacher Lecture on 7th May to the Department of International Relations at the University of St Andrews. Situated in Scotland, St Andrews is the third oldest university in the English-speaking world. The title of the lecture will be “British Empire, the Academy, and International Relations”.

José Luís Rodriguez Aquino – Winner of the Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award

Congratulations to Jose Luis Rodriguez Aquino! “Luis … incorporate[d] elements of his own teaching style that broke from the traditional mold while creating a valuable learning environment that is seldom seen from graduate students. In-class debates forced students to explore the different angles of pressing questions. Team competitions offered students a chance to work together […]

Congratulations to Nandini Dey

Congratulations to Nandini Dey who has been selected to participate in the inaugural class of the APSA Public Scholarship Program. During the 6-month program, she will be working with other scholars to make new research in the APSR accessible to a broader audience and will be participating in a public workshop later this month at APSA […]

Bennett, Connolly, and Katz recognized in “The Political Science 400”

The journal PS: Political Science & Politics recently published “The Political Science 400”, an analysis of scholarly influence among Political Science faculty in the United States. Based on lifetime citation counts in Google Scholar, the list includes three members of our department: Bill Connolly, Dick Katz, and Jane Bennett. Mimi Keck was also recognized as one of the […]

Congratulations Stephanie Erev

Congratulations to Stephanie Erev on her appointment as an Assistant Professor at Portland State University!

Congratulations David Dagan

Congratulations to David Dagan on his appointment as a Postdoctoral fellow at George Washington University!

Jane Bennett Appointed to Andrew W. Mellon Professorship in the Humanities

Congratulations go to Professor Jane Bennett on her election by the JHU Board of Trustees to the Andrew W. Mellon Professorship in the Humanities. This is a well-deserved honor in recognition of her outstanding record of scholarship and many contributions to the department and university.

Congratulations to Professor Erin Chung Awarded 5-year grant-Academy of Korean Studies

Professor Erin Chung and her research team (consisting of 7 scholars in the U.S. and Australia) have been awarded a 5-year grant for US$1.3 million from the Academy of Korean Studies (AKS) for a lab project on “Local Agency and National Responses to Globalization: The South Korean Case in Comparative, Transnational, and Diasporic Perspective.” This […]