People

  • faculty

  • Bentley Allan

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Ohio State University
    • 410-516-5837
    • bentley.allan@jhu.edu
    • 271 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: International relations, science and politics, global governance, global environmental politics
  • Jane Bennett

    Andrew W. Mellon Professor in Humanities

    PhD, University of Massachusetts
    • 410-516-5230
    • janebennett@jhu.edu
    • 360 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political theory, American political thought, ecophilosophy
  • P.J. Brendese

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Duke University
    • pbrende1@jhu.edu
    • 357 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political theory, comparative political thought, race and politics
  • Samuel Chambers

    Professor
    Director of Graduate Studies

    PhD, University of Minnesota
    • 410-516-7948
    • samchambers@jhu.edu
    • 280 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political theory, Cultural Politics
  • Erin Aeran Chung

    Charles D. Miller Associate Professor of East Asian Politics

    PhD, Northwestern University
    • 410-516-4496
    • echung@jhu.edu
    • 337 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, East Asian politics (Japan and Korea), international migration, comparative racial politics
  • William Connolly

    Krieger-Eisenhower Professor

    PhD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    • 410-516-7535
    • pluma@jhu.edu
    • 328 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political theory, planetary processes and eco-politics, political economy
  • Jennifer Culbert

    Associate Professor

    PhD, University of California, Berkeley
    • 410-516-4703
    • jculbert@jhu.edu
    • 339 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political theory, jurisprudence
  • Ronald J. Daniels

    Professor and President of Johns Hopkins University

    LLM, Yale University
  • Steven David

    Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-7530
    • sdavid@jhu.edu
    • 362 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: International relations, security studies, comparative politics
  • Daniel Deudney

    Professor

    PhD, Princeton University
    • 410-516-7538
    • ddeudney@jhu.edu
    • 331 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: International relations, political theory
  • Robert Freedman

    Adjunct Professor

    PhD, Columbia University
  • Benjamin Ginsberg

    David Bernstein Professor
    Chair, Center for Advanced Governmental Studies

    PhD, University of Chicago
    • 410-516-5568
    • bgin@jhu.edu
    • 341 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American Politics, Political Development
  • Hahrie Han

    Professor
    Inaugural Director
    Stavros Niarchos Foundation Agora Institute

    PhD, Stanford University
    • 410-516-0592
    • hahrie@jhu.edu
    • 329 Wyman Park
    • Research Interests: Civic and political participation, collective action, organizing, and social change, focusing particularly on the role of civic associations
  • Nicolas Jabko

    Associate Professor

    PhD, University of California at Berkeley
    • 410-516-6473
    • nicolas.jabko@jhu.edu
    • 329 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, international political economy, European politics
  • Richard S. Katz

    Professor

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-7534
    • richard.katz@jhu.edu
    • 327 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, American politics
  • Matthew Kocher

    Senior Lecturer

    PhD, University of Chicago
    • matthew.kocher@jhu.edu
    • 354 Mergenthaler Hall
    • Research Interests: Comparative Politics, International Relations, and Political Methodology
  • Adria Lawrence

    Aronson Associate Professor of International Studies and Political Science

    PhD, University of Chicago
    • adria.lawrence@jhu.edu
    • 270 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, Middle Eastern and North African politics, colonialism, nationalism, conflict and collective action
  • Robert Lieberman

    Krieger-Eisenhower Professor

    PhD, Harvard University
  • Renée Marlin-Bennett

    Professor

    PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    • 410-516-5478
    • marlin@jhu.edu
    • 326 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: International relations, political economy of information
  • Sebastián Mazzuca

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, University of California at Berkeley
    • 410-516-7539
    • smazzuca@jhu.edu
    • 332 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: Political economy, comparative politics, Latin American politics and economy
  • Senator Barbara A. Mikulski

    Professor

  • Sarah Parkinson

    Aronson Assistant Professor - Political Science and International Studies

    PhD, The University of Chicago
    • sparkinson@jhu.edu
    • Mergenthaler 284
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, political violence, Middle East and North African politics, social network theory, qualitative methods, forced migration
  • Daniel Schlozman

    Joseph and Bertha Bernstein Associate Professor

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-5882
    • dschloz1@jhu.edu
    • 278 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American politics
  • Sebastian Schmidt

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, University of Chicago
    • 410-516-4099
    • sschmi27@jhu.edu
    • 365 Mergenthaler Hall
    • Research Interests: International Relations
  • Adam Sheingate

    Professor and Chair

    PhD, Yale University
    • 410-516-7531
    • adam.sheingate@jhu.edu
    • 335 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American political development, historical institutionalism, comparative public policy
  • Robbie Shilliam

    Professor

    PhD, University of Sussex
    • 410-516-0875
    • r.shilliam@jhu.edu
    • 341 Mergenthaler Hall
    • Research Interests: International Relations
  • Lester Spence

    Professor

    PhD, University of Michigan
    • 410-516-7537
    • unbowed@gmail.com
    • 273 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American politics, black politics, race and politics, urban politics, American political behavior and public opinion
  • Steven Teles

    Professor

    PhD, University of Virginia
    • 410-516-6421
    • steles2@jhu.edu
    • 356 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American politics, social policy, law and public policy, political analysis
  • Vesla Weaver

    Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor of Political Science and Sociology

    PhD, Harvard University
    • 410-516-2843
    • vesla@jhu.edu
    • 272 Mergenthaler Hall
    • Research Interests: American Politics
  • Emily Zackin

    Assistant Professor

    PhD, Princeton University
    • 410-516-8887
    • ezackin1@jhu.edu
    • 276 Mergenthaler
    • Research Interests: American politics, constitutional law
  • postdoctoral fellow

  • Jan Dutkiewicz

    Connie Caplan Post-Doctoral Fellow

    PhD, New School for Social Research
    • 410-516-6764
    • 275B Mergenthaler Hall
  • professors emeriti

  • Joseph Cooper

    Professor Emeritus and Academy Professor

    • jcooper@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Legislative politics, executive-legislative relations, institutional theory
  • Matthew Crenson

    Professor Emeritus and Academy Professor

    • crenson@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Urban government and American political development
  • Margaret Keck

    Professor Emeritus and Academy Professor

    PhD, Columbia University
    • mkeck@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Comparative politics, international relations (Latin American politics, the environment, social movements)
  • Lester M. Salamon

    Lester M. Salamon

    Professor Emeritus
    PhD, Harvard University

    • lsalamon@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: Tools of Government , Nonprofit organizations ; U.S. and International .
  • in memoriam

  • Richard Flathman

    Professor Emeritus

    • Research Interests: Political Theory
  • Joel Grossman

    Professor Emeritus and Academy Professor

    • Research Interests: American politics, law and politics
  • J. Woodford Howard, Jr.

    Professor Emeritus

    • Research Interests: Public law, judicial process
  • administrative staff

  • Melissa Baranowski

    Executive Assistant to Senator Barbara A. Mikulski (Ret.)

  • Tracey Biller

    Academic Program Coordinator

  • Sally Lawton

    Undergraduate Coordinator

    • slawton3@jhu.edu
    • Research Interests: American Politics & Political Theory
      Urban Politics; Postindustrial Cities; Race; American Political Development.
  • Ricardo Sanchez

    LAN Administrator

  • Lisa Williams

    Supervisor and Sr. Administrative Coordinator

  • Eve Yitagesu

    Administrative Secretary

  • Sorry, No Results Found

    Try changing your search terms